About Us

Established in 1927, the Sandy Bay Harrier Club is Tasmania’s longest continuously competing athletics club. As a founding member club of amateur athletics movement in Tasmania, the club and its members are proud to still be a part of the athletic movement today. With its members competing in track and field competition in the summer and cross country in the winter the club has witnessed many of the great advancements in the sport, including the move from grass and cinder tracks the now ultra fast synthetic tracks with digital photo finish and computer assisted measuring devices.

Despite the many technological changes to the sport of athletics, the key component to the Sandy Bay Harriers has remained the same, great people. Throughout the club’s many years, hundreds of men and women of all ages and abilities have put on the blue and white club colours and taken up the challenge of the clubs motto ” In Hoc Signo Vinces” which translates to ” In this sign conquer”.

As with all clubs, Sandy Bay has been fortunate to have many standout athletes and officials over the years with members representing the state and Australia at the world’s top athletic events such as the Olympic Games, World Championships, Oceania Games, Commonwealth Games, Youth Games and World Cup Events. Along with many of the biggest fun runs on the planet such as the London and Berlin marathons. On a local level the club has always been a strong contender in the local interclub competition, with members enjoying the challenge and comradery of competing against the members of our friendly rival clubs.

So if you are looking for a physical challenge or just want to get fit in a fun family friendly environment come and try Athletics with the Sandy Bay Harriers, all are welcome to take up the challenge.

Over the years, Sandy Bay has produced numerous champions who have represented their club at the highest level including:

Ruby Smee – represented Australia at the 2016 Melanesian Games, winning a gold medal in the U/18 3,000m event and a bronze in the 1500m.  Selected in the Australian team to contest the 2018 World School Sport Cross Country Championships in France.

Jagga Pybus – won a gold medal in the long jump at the 2017 International School Games.

Robbie Hunt  attended the 28th World Mountain Running Championship in Italy 2012. Finishing 62nd the World Junior Mountain Running Champs in a time of 52:52 over the 8.8kms, 760m ascent. This was after qualifying for the worlds from coming second in the U/20 national championship which was held on Mt Wellington.

Tristan Thomas  At the 2012 London Olympic Games Tristan made to the semi finals of the 400m Hurdles after coming 4th 49.13 (SB) in a very fast heat 4, and had the =5th fastest (1st non-auto q) from the 6 heats. In the semi final ran 50.55 for 7th – London 2012. At the 2006 Commonwealth Games in the heats of 400m Hurdles, Tristan ran a PB of 49.88 to make the semi-finals, where he placed 5th (50.56), narrowly missing out on running the final.

Max Waldron – went to the 2012 World Junior Championships in Spain and Tasmania has 5 athletes attending. Max was competing in the 4x400m relay with Jarryd Buchan, Jay Meaney & Steven Solomon. In the heat the team came second 3:07.49 behind USA. In the final Max’s 4x400m team finished 4th – 3:06.58, with USA winning in a time of 3:03.99, 2nd POL 3:05.05 and 3rd TRI 3:06.32.

Ryan Foster – In 2012, Ryan was first Tasmanian to be selected for the world indoor titles in athletics when he competed at 1500m. In 2011 Ryan has become the First Tasmanian to break the 4min mile, running 3:58.49 indoors at 2011 Penn State National in the USA – 29/1/2011. Race Video Post Race Interview. In 2010 he become the holder of two Australian records the 1000m (indoor) 2:19.60 (16 Jan) and the 800m (indoor) 1:47.48 (30 Jan). In 2005 he represented Australia in the 2000m Steeplechase at the 2005 World Youth Championships (Marrakesh, Morocco).

Donna MacFarlane – competed for Australia in the Chiba Ekiden Road Relay Championships in 2005 held in Japan.  At the 2006 Commonwealth Games, Donna ran a 10 second PB (9:25.05) to pick up the bronze medal. One week later, Donna competed in the 2006 World Cross Country Championships (Short Course) in Fukuoka, Japan, where the Australian team won a bronze medal. In 2008, she represented Australia in the 3,000m Steeplechase at the 2008 Beijing Olympics, but unfortunately at the start of her heat, lost one of her shoes and missed qualifying for the final.

Will Hamlyn-Harris – won a silver medal in the javelin at the 2006 Commonwealth Games.

Scott Wells – participated in the Commonwealth Youth Games in 2001.

Mandy Giblin – Mandy was a talented junior athlete who began her career with the Tamar Athletic Club in Launceston, where she was coached by the late Andrew Willis.  Upon moving to Hobart in 1992, she joined the Albert Johnson squad and rose to prominence in 1997 with a win in the National 1500m Championship that saw her gain selection for the 1998 Commonwealth Games.  She went on to represent Australia in the IAAF World Cross Country titles in 1998 and 1999 and also achieved National selection in road relay events.

Greg Robertson – represented Australia at the World Junior Athletics Championships in the 10,000m walk in 1988.

Dave Chettle – represented Australia in the marathon at the Montreal Olympics in 1976.

Randall Markey – represented Australia in the 1974 Commonwealth Games in the 1500m.

Of course, most of our members simply love their athletics and the many benefits it brings, such as improved fitness and making new friends. Come along and have some fun!

We also have numerous Life Members and Club Patrons.


The track and field season starts each year in October. Competition is normally held at the Domain Athletics Centre (Queens Domain, Hobart). Cross Country events are held at numerous venues all over Southern Tasmania, but they are mostly within 30 minutes drive from Hobart.


Different coaches have different training times and locations. Please see our SBHC Coaching Page

Contact Information

Visit our Committee/Contacts page if you would like to contact one of our committee members for more information, or have any queries regarding this website. We look forward to hearing from you 🙂

Registration Fees

Please see our separate Registration Fees page for pricing.

Our Motto

In Hoc Signo Vinces (“In This Sign, Conquer”)

Travel Assistance

The club offers travel assistance to athletes, officials and coaches to travel to National and International competitions. The level of assistance provided is at the discretion of the club committee and is subject to our Travel Assistance Policy: SBHC Travel Assistance Guidelines

SBHC Sponsorship 2020_21

Registrations 2020-21

Register Now for the 2020-21 Season
2020-21 All Competition Registration
2020-21 All Competition U/12 Registration
2021 Out of Stadium Only Registration

"All Competition" includes Track & Field and Out of Stadium (Cross Country), while the "Out of Stadium" option only allows you to compete in cross country/road events as well as the Tasmanian 10 000m Track Championship.


Sandy Bay Harriers are supported by the Tasmanian Government

Upcoming Events

Cross Country 2020
Sat 12 Sep – Soldiers Walk XC 3Km & 6Km & 9Km
Sat 19 Sep – Snug XC 3Km & 6Km
Sat 26 Sep – Claremont 4Km & 8Km
Track & Field 2020-21
3 Oct 20 Come & Try Day 1pm
10 Oct 20 Rd 1A 1pm
17 Oct 20 Rd 2B 1pm
18 Oct 20 Regional All Schools
22 Oct 20 Rd 3C 9am (Thursday)
24/25 Oct State All Schools Launceston
31 Oct 20 Rd 4D 1pm

Facebook - SBHC.Athletics